Its origin dates back to the sixth century, when a community of Benedictine monks stops in the valley; the land then passing into the hands of the Bishop of Coimbra, which, in the early seventeenth ceded it to the Discalced Carmelites, who built the monastery in 1628 .
Currently there are only the church, whose facade has three arches, the interior has a unique nave, the plant, latin cross, and the cloister, surrounded by the hotel.
The monks, in their eagerness to get a place for meditation and prayer, decided to build a stone wall of 5750 meters in length that defines the forest, and continue with the planting of exotic tree species, from the Portuguese colonies.
Today, we can see more than seven hundred species of trees, in an area of 400 hectares. Unique species, which require travel around the world to contemplate: Himalayan firs, Australian acacia, Japanese camphor, Brazilian araucaria, Caucasus cedar, eucalyptus from Tasmania, Pennsylvania ash, ginkgo biloba, Asian palm, Mexican pine, redwood, and American white cedar ... Along with native trees and plant them in Europe: cork, oak, beech, mastic, olive, elm, oak and yew.